View low-graphics version

Language Levels

Go to: Home

The Common European Framework of Reference for Languages: Learning, Teaching, Assessment, abbreviated as CEFR, is a guideline used to describe achievements of learners of foreign languages across Europe.

The list below is a brief explanation of each level:

  • Level 1 (A0) : Beginner
    Your capacity to speak or understand the language is very limited or inexistant.

  • Level 2 (A1) : Elementary
    You can understand the language in basic, daily situations if the person speaking with you speaks clearly and slowly. You understand and use simple expressions. You need to work on your listening skills and vocabulary.

  • Level 3 (A2) : Pre-Intermediate
    You can express yourself and be understood in many daily situations. You need to work on gramer, vocabulary and oral expression.

  • Level 4 (B1) : Intermediate
    You can speak in a coherent and comprehensible manner on most common subjects familiar to you. You need to improve grammer and vocabulary.

  • Level 5 (B2) : High-Intermediate
    You can use the language efficiently and express yourself precisely. You should develop your oral fluency with discussions and by trying to express your opinions in depth. You should refine grammar and expand vocabulary.

  • Level 6 (C1) : Avanced
    You can speak the language in a complex, spontaneous manner on a variety of subjects. You need to expand your vocabulary and acquire better ease with your style.

  • Level 7 (C2) : Competent/Fluent
    You can use the language easily and argue complex subjects. You need to work on comprehension of nuances and engage in independant reading to perfect your vocabulary.